Author Topic: Litecoin Supernodes'  (Read 16653 times)

Offline v3ra1ynn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #30 on: February 03, 2015, 09:44:53 PM »
Something like this mate?

https://bitinfocharts.com/litecoin/nodes/

Sadly those aren't supernodes. Finding all the nodes on the Litecoin network is quite easy, whilst fullnodes are another thing.
Also, I would love for Litecoin to have ~10,000 node - that would be more than Bitcoin.

But doesn't this: https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/ show the same thing for Bitcoin, all nodes and not just super nodes?  For all we know its possible that LTC has more super nodes unless there is some kind of tool/website that shows amount of actual super nodes in each.

Offline losh11

  • Litecoin Association Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1265
  • Litecoin is Platinum Isotope 190 to Bitcoin's Gold
    • Bitch, here's my site.
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #31 on: February 03, 2015, 10:40:44 PM »
But doesn't this: https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/ show the same thing for Bitcoin, all nodes and not just super nodes?  For all we know its possible that LTC has more super nodes unless there is some kind of tool/website that shows amount of actual super nodes in each.

This Bitnodes website is actually counting all the full nodes for BTC, unlike that previous site which displayed all known nodes.
At the very best, you can predict a minimum number of supernodes, because every supernode has to be connected to the software for you to actually count all of them. Technically I would also have to waste one connection space to count every node - therefore running more than one instance of the software is a bad idea.

Offline v3ra1ynn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #32 on: February 03, 2015, 10:47:38 PM »
But doesn't this: https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/ show the same thing for Bitcoin, all nodes and not just super nodes?  For all we know its possible that LTC has more super nodes unless there is some kind of tool/website that shows amount of actual super nodes in each.

This Bitnodes website is actually counting all the full nodes for BTC, unlike that previous site which displayed all known nodes.
At the very best, you can predict a minimum number of supernodes, because every supernode has to be connected to the software for you to actually count all of them. Technically I would also have to waste one connection space to count every node - therefore running more than one instance of the software is a bad idea.

Are you sure mate? From the website: "Bitnodes is currently being developed to estimate the size of the Bitcoin network by finding all the reachable nodes in the network."  All reachable nodes does not mean all super nodes and I see no distinction with it from the LTC nodes website.  Didn't mean to get into this with ya but I think its good that we try and find out what the answer is.

Offline losh11

  • Litecoin Association Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1265
  • Litecoin is Platinum Isotope 190 to Bitcoin's Gold
    • Bitch, here's my site.
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #33 on: February 03, 2015, 10:52:09 PM »

Are you sure mate? From the website: "Bitnodes is currently being developed to estimate the size of the Bitcoin network by finding all the reachable nodes in the network."  All reachable nodes does not mean all super nodes and I see no distinction with it from the LTC nodes website.  Didn't mean to get into this with ya but I think its good that we try and find out what the answer is.

100% sure. That's just some really bad website texting.

If you look at the list of all the nodes they are connected to, you can see that they all have port 8333 open. Port 8333 is the tcp port that is required to run a Bitcoin full node, whilst it is port 9333 for a Litecoin supernode. Here is that list: https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/nodes/?q=United%20States [for the US].

Well most do. Because these ports are just default ports, so I believe they can be changed.

Also the list from fullnode.io has significantly lower numbers of nodes compared to that other site showing all the available peers.

Offline v3ra1ynn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #34 on: February 03, 2015, 11:43:11 PM »

Are you sure mate? From the website: "Bitnodes is currently being developed to estimate the size of the Bitcoin network by finding all the reachable nodes in the network."  All reachable nodes does not mean all super nodes and I see no distinction with it from the LTC nodes website.  Didn't mean to get into this with ya but I think its good that we try and find out what the answer is.

100% sure. That's just some really bad website texting.

If you look at the list of all the nodes they are connected to, you can see that they all have port 8333 open. Port 8333 is the tcp port that is required to run a Bitcoin full node, whilst it is port 9333 for a Litecoin supernode. Here is that list: https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/nodes/?q=United%20States [for the US].

Well most do. Because these ports are just default ports, so I believe they can be changed.

Also the list from fullnode.io has significantly lower numbers of nodes compared to that other site showing all the available peers.

fullnode.io wasn't working but I found some info:  https://bitinfocharts.com/   I'm sorry I doubted you I just can't ever take anyone's word anymore without seeing some sources. :D

If you scroll down to the bottom of that page it tells you how many total nodes and how many active nodes there are.  Seems https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/ is showing active nodes and https://bitinfocharts.com/litecoin/nodes/ is showing total nodes.  "Peering nodes" is just nodes that are run voluntarily, so ALL nodes in the Bitcoin and Litecoin network should be peering nodes, even if they are super nodes.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2015, 11:59:50 PM by v3ra1ynn »

Offline losh11

  • Litecoin Association Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1265
  • Litecoin is Platinum Isotope 190 to Bitcoin's Gold
    • Bitch, here's my site.
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #35 on: February 04, 2015, 12:15:05 AM »

fullnode.io wasn't working but I found some info:  https://bitinfocharts.com/   I'm sorry I doubted you I just can't ever take anyone's word anymore without seeing some sources. :D

If you scroll down to the bottom of that page it tells you how many total nodes and how many active nodes there are.  Seems https://getaddr.bitnodes.io/ is showing active nodes and https://bitinfocharts.com/litecoin/nodes/ is showing total nodes.  "Peering nodes" is just nodes that are run voluntarily, so ALL nodes in the Bitcoin and Litecoin network should be peering nodes, even if they are super nodes.

Yeah, you are correct. Supernodes are included in peering nodes as well.
You should never believe someone without seeing some sources...

Offline Negcreep

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #36 on: February 04, 2015, 02:31:04 PM »
Thinking about doing this with a Raspberry Pi 2 Model B.

But do the devs actually have any plans to reward supernodes?

Offline Totscha

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 987
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #37 on: February 04, 2015, 03:03:55 PM »
Thinking about doing this with a Raspberry Pi 2 Model B.

But do the devs actually have any plans to reward supernodes?

Make sure you use a 32GB SD card :) Or a USB flash drive for the blockchain.

In any case i'd be very interested in seeing how this experiment turned out.

As far as rewards go, I don't really see the point as long as they can be run on a $35 machine ;)

Offline Mr Fusion

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 107
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #38 on: February 04, 2015, 07:57:06 PM »
Would it help if I just installed a client on my server? It's online 24/7, it's upload speed is not that fast though only 1.3Mbit...

1.3Mbit is fine. But could you check how many connections you have and then reply with it.

I'm having 32 active connections...

Offline v3ra1ynn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #39 on: February 04, 2015, 08:46:38 PM »
Thinking about doing this with a Raspberry Pi 2 Model B.

But do the devs actually have any plans to reward supernodes?

No rewards for running BTC super nodes either, you just do it to support the network and want it to succeed. :D

Offline losh11

  • Litecoin Association Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1265
  • Litecoin is Platinum Isotope 190 to Bitcoin's Gold
    • Bitch, here's my site.
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #40 on: February 04, 2015, 09:00:56 PM »
I'm having 32 active connections...

That's great! Thanks, you are doing a good job.  ;D

No rewards for running BTC super nodes either, you just do it to support the network and want it to succeed. :D

Let's see if the devs could implement a very small reward for us doing this...

Offline AmDD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 486
  • I like coins
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #41 on: February 04, 2015, 09:04:21 PM »
Thinking about doing this with a Raspberry Pi 2 Model B.

But do the devs actually have any plans to reward supernodes?

Make sure you use a 32GB SD card :) Or a USB flash drive for the blockchain.

In any case i'd be very interested in seeing how this experiment turned out.

As far as rewards go, I don't really see the point as long as they can be run on a $35 machine ;)

Is a rpi powerful enough for this? I see mention of high RAM usage and knowing the pi only has 512mb (or less?) of RAM makes me think its not enough... This is what I had thought about setting up.

Offline losh11

  • Litecoin Association Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1265
  • Litecoin is Platinum Isotope 190 to Bitcoin's Gold
    • Bitch, here's my site.
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #42 on: February 04, 2015, 09:36:11 PM »

Is a rpi powerful enough for this? I see mention of high RAM usage and knowing the pi only has 512mb (or less?) of RAM makes me think its not enough... This is what I had thought about setting up.

The Raspberry Pi 2 has 1GB of RAM. The thing is, the user is able to modify max connections to their computer.
This can be done through modifying litecoin.conf with the tag 'maxconnections=NUMBERHERE'.

I know for sure that 1GB of RAM on Ubuntu 14.04 can allow up to 75 connections. So I'm guessing 512MB of RAM should allow ~30 connections.

Offline Negcreep

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #43 on: February 05, 2015, 10:00:04 AM »

Is a rpi powerful enough for this? I see mention of high RAM usage and knowing the pi only has 512mb (or less?) of RAM makes me think its not enough... This is what I had thought about setting up.

The Raspberry Pi 2 has 1GB of RAM. The thing is, the user is able to modify max connections to their computer.
This can be done through modifying litecoin.conf with the tag 'maxconnections=NUMBERHERE'.

I know for sure that 1GB of RAM on Ubuntu 14.04 can allow up to 75 connections. So I'm guessing 512MB of RAM should allow ~30 connections.

Yeah I first found out it was possible here http://cointelegraph.com/news/113419/new-raspberry-pi-runs-full-bitcoin-node-for-35

I see in the comments that other alts are already offering rewards for running supernodes. Just saying....

Offline Mr Fusion

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 107
Re: Litecoin Supernodes'
« Reply #44 on: February 09, 2015, 09:33:48 AM »
Just curious, does a high number of supernodes make clients sync faster? Litecoin is syncing WAY faster than Bitcoin, Doge, Via. I sync my wallets every day, but Litecoin is ready after just 30 seconds orso.