Author Topic: KopiemTu 2.0 - Nvidia 750Ti USB linux. Cuda 6.5 !!  (Read 222598 times)

Offline ericmad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #60 on: March 13, 2014, 10:13:03 PM »


If you want, I may test your modified bios with my gigabyte WF. With original bios I have almost 270kH/s, so you have +10% more. Really nice setup.
Do you monitor also power consumption at the wall?

sure, pm me your email and i'll send it to u..  i increased the memory clock +500 on all but one card.  couldnt get that one card past +400.  gpu was clocked up to ~1345-1370, depending on the card. and subsequent voltages run 1.13-1.18, similar to what my stock evga OC 750ti cards get.  i am no no means an expert here, so use ast your own risk! :)   but got these settings to work, from good 'ol tinkering and trial & error.  was willing to take the risk, even if it meant bricking a card or 2..   currently drawing 620W at the wall, but had no intention of conserving power at this point; just wanted to see how much i can push these boys.  if it stays rock stable, will try to see how much i can reduce the power, before it becomes unstable or reduced hashrate..  may not even be worth it in the end, but always fun to perform 'durability' testing on new hardware.   ;D oh and please post your before/after system power consumption if you can..  i had written down some baseline numbers on a MSI rig i setup, but was too quick to OC these gigabyte cards, that i didn't record baseline power draws..

Offline conmega

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #61 on: March 14, 2014, 05:14:42 AM »
Well I got three machines up and running using this and was very straight forward, very simple setup.
So far I only had 12 of the 22 750 ti's I ordered so I have 2 machines with 5 cards and one machine with 2 (ran out of risers as-well).
http://goput.it/15i.jpg
I'm getting about 130kh per card with scrypt-n, these are only regular PNY 750 ti's so those hashes are sort-of expected.
I haven't used linux much before so this is a new experience to me, as everyone else found out though you cant normally overclock the cards in linux as you would windows.
I do not know how to flash a bios in linux and or a tool to do so either, so a bit of help to the ignorant would be awesome ;D
I really love these little cards though, the center most card in 5 cards only seemed to hit 60C max which is just awesome, they are also practically silent compared to a rack server running 5 feet away from it.
Hope to see a bunch more Nividia mining in the future!

Anyway great work on the linux image, I sent a little something to your BTC wallet for your work on this  ;)
One bug I noticed though is sometimes when I started a mining there was already one running without me ever starting it up, don't know why it was but all I had to do was cancel them both and restart a single one. Probably just a silly probably I had but if anyone else had this issue maybe its something thats been overlooked?

Offline nicquehen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #62 on: March 14, 2014, 07:16:34 AM »
Hello,

1)How i can disble the autostart at boot?
I have to put some crontab with specific start parameters.

2)Yesterday i had this error :

 solve by increase the memory (previous tips on the previous page) and run one instance per graphic card. (6x 750ti)

today i testing the stability and need to set the autostart for one instance per card

Offline jk_14

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #63 on: March 14, 2014, 08:27:26 AM »
Well I got three machines up and running using this and was very straight forward, very simple setup.

As I already wrote, it was my main idea to make things as simple as can be :)

So far I only had 12 of the 22 750 ti's I ordered so I have 2 machines with 5 cards and one machine with 2 (ran out of risers as-well).
http://goput.it/15i.jpg
I'm getting about 130kh per card with scrypt-n, these are only regular PNY 750 ti's so those hashes are sort-of expected.
I haven't used linux much before so this is a new experience to me, as everyone else found out though you cant normally overclock the cards in linux as you would windows.
I do not know how to flash a bios in linux and or a tool to do so either, so a bit of help to the ignorant would be awesome ;D

Nice setup. Here you have tools for flashing nvidia bios under windows:
http://cryptomining-blog.com/wp-content/files/gtx-750-ti-power-limiter-mod.zip
from here:
http://cryptomining-blog.com/1014-how-to-increase-the-geforce-gtx-750-ti-power-target-limit/

I really love these little cards though, the center most card in 5 cards only seemed to hit 60C max which is just awesome, they are also practically silent compared to a rack server running 5 feet away from it.
Hope to see a bunch more Nividia mining in the future!

Anyway great work on the linux image, I sent a little something to your BTC wallet for your work on this  ;)
One bug I noticed though is sometimes when I started a mining there was already one running without me ever starting it up, don't know why it was but all I had to do was cancel them both and restart a single one. Probably just a silly probably I had but if anyone else had this issue maybe its something thats been overlooked?

Thank you for your donation! :)
It's possible to run more instances of cudaminer simultaneously, and every instance hashrate is part of base hashrate. ("It is not a bug, it's a feature." :) )

Mainly to control this issue better - I have added extra printout with list of current screen sessions, executed automatically at the end of 'mine start'.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2014, 10:22:52 AM by jk_14 »

Offline jk_14

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #64 on: March 14, 2014, 09:03:27 AM »
Hello,

1)How i can disble the autostart at boot?
I have to put some crontab with specific start parameters.

2)Yesterday i had this error :

 solve by increase the memory (previous tips on the previous page) and run one instance per graphic card. (6x 750ti)

today i testing the stability and need to set the autostart for one instance per card


OK, please try such workaround:

1.
edit file: /etc/init.d/mine
and change old section named do_start() for something new:

Code: [Select]
do_start () {
        log_action_msg "Start mining..."
        screen -dmS cudaminer /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -ls | grep tached
}


2.
cd /etc/kopiemtu
and make such directory content like I have done below:

Code: [Select]
[email protected]:/etc/kopiemtu# ls -lt
total 28
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 88 mar 14 09:48 cudaminer.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 88 mar 14 09:48 card_0.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 88 mar 14 09:48 card_1.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 88 mar 14 09:48 card_2.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 88 mar 14 09:48 card_3.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 88 mar 14 09:48 card_4.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 88 mar 14 09:48 card_5.conf
[email protected]:/etc/kopiemtu#


of course, use also necessary additional line in every card configuration JSON file:

...
"devices" : "X"
...

(where X is number of given card)
https://github.com/cbuchner1/CudaMiner/blob/master/README.txt


Should work :)


P.S.
"solve by increase the memory (previous tips on the previous page)"  -  could you provide link to this?
« Last Edit: March 14, 2014, 09:16:06 AM by jk_14 »

Offline sabe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #65 on: March 14, 2014, 10:39:13 AM »
Any idea why my /opt/miners/ and /opt/kopiemtu/ directories are empty?

Offline infinitepeace

  • Litecoin Association Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 459
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #66 on: March 14, 2014, 11:44:05 AM »
the 750Ti tempts me back to mining.

Any thoughts on how the new architecture will scale at mining as high end cards are released?  This really is a sweet spot right now at price/power consumption/cards per rig with the 750 - so tempting!

Offline jk_14

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #67 on: March 14, 2014, 11:45:34 AM »
Any idea why my /opt/miners/ and /opt/kopiemtu/ directories are empty?

No idea, this image file is the carbon copy of original OS
it seems like a hardware problem, maybe try another pendrive?

Offline nicquehen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #68 on: March 14, 2014, 12:42:08 PM »

"solve by increase the memory (previous tips on the previous page)"  -  could you provide link to this?

I suppose this solution should work, from command line:

1. cd /boot/syslinux
2. as root - edit syslinux.cfg (use Midnight Commander if you like)
3. change this line:

Code: [Select]
APPEND ro root=UUID=f6888d2a-bdfb-4cfe-b1d4-35a54e5d3690 initrd=/boot/initrd.img-3.11.0-17-generic
into:
Code: [Select]
APPEND ro root=UUID=f6888d2a-bdfb-4cfe-b1d4-35a54e5d3690 initrd=/boot/initrd.img-3.11.0-17-generic vmalloc=192M
======================================

Thx for your help about the process to make multiple instance but is not working fine 



All instance running

 but some screen look this error :


and some others have very bad hash rate :



please find my init.d/mine



one of my config file




Offline jk_14

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #69 on: March 14, 2014, 12:47:11 PM »

one of my config file




please show me another config file...



P.S.
and make some small tweak:

Code: [Select]
do_start () {
        log_action_msg "Start mining..."
        screen -dmS cudaminer_0 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_1 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_2 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_3 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_4 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_5 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -ls | grep tached
}
« Last Edit: March 14, 2014, 01:09:54 PM by jk_14 »

Offline nicquehen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #70 on: March 14, 2014, 03:10:20 PM »
I will try the tips i'll keep you advice.

another config file are similary just the devices parameter is increase +1 until 5 for the card 6

Offline jk_14

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #71 on: March 14, 2014, 03:19:38 PM »
I will try the tips i'll keep you advice.

another config file are similary just the devices parameter is increase +1 until 5 for the card 6


I'm asking, because these two screens you have attached, are working on the same GPU #0:



 but some screen look this error :


and some others have very bad hash rate :





but maybe it is only misleading numbering inside the cudaminer, in such circumstances...
« Last Edit: March 14, 2014, 03:22:50 PM by jk_14 »

Offline jk_14

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #72 on: March 14, 2014, 03:24:47 PM »
I will try the tips i'll keep you advice.

another config file are similary just the devices parameter is increase +1 until 5 for the card 6


try also this commands one by one, from command line:

        screen -dmS cudaminer_0 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_1 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_2 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_3 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_4 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_5 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch


Offline nicquehen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #73 on: March 14, 2014, 06:16:28 PM »
so i tried a lot of thing , first i follow your recommendation. I was check all my config files all is ok (devices number is not the same) i tried to run this command in the same order

        screen -dmS cudaminer_0 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_1 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_2 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_3 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_4 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch
        screen -dmS cudaminer_5 /opt/kopiemtu/miner.sh
        mine switch

and it's working fine no issue at all.

I  reboot, all screen started but cudaminer not switch any index and tried to run instance on the same graphic card.

Stange  ???

Offline chipxtreme

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: Kopiemtu 1.0 - bootable 64bit linux image for Nvidia 750 Ti
« Reply #74 on: March 14, 2014, 09:34:13 PM »
Just upgraded my 3 x Gigabyte WF 750Ti rig to 6 cards, using ASROCK H81 BTC board. I was getting 300K a card when 3 cards where in but when I installed the other 3 - all running from usb risers I was getting rubbish speed.

I then give this a try. First boot was getting 1400-1500K from all 6 cards but then after a few hours noticed one card had dropped to just under 1Khash so tried a reboot.

Now all 6 cards are running at the 130K range.

Now I'd like to know how to get it back up to full speed and also how to up the clock/mem speeds so I can get 300K+ off each card.

Also if its possible to install Teamviewer?